The first two-stage gas generator of D-18T engine series 3M was tested

Currently, a corporation named Scientific Production Association “A.G. Ivchenko” (Motor Sich JSC and Ivchenko-Progress SE) continues the work on upgrading D-18T turbofan, which has no analogues in CIS countries, and which is installed on An-124 (Ruslan) and An-225 (Mriya) aircrafts. According to technical characteristics, namely: the transportation of oversized cargo weighing up to 250 tons – Mriya and up to 150 tons – Ruslan, these aircrafts are now unsurpassed in the world.

A new engine modification series 3M with FADEC control system, improved acoustic performance and low emission level of harmful substances in order to ensure prospective ICAO standards, was developed by cooperative labor of Ivchenko-Progress SE, which is the developer, and Motor Sich JSC – D-18T engine manufacturer. Safety measures are taking to achieve assigned resource of 50000 hours, equal to the resource of An-124 Ruslan air frame.

In July 2014 the first two-stage gas generator of D-18T engine series 3M was assembled in Ivchenko-Progress SE. Since August, the company embarked on a special certification tests to assess the strength and gas-dynamic characteristics of gas generator. Assembling of first full-sized D-18T engine series 3M is planned by the end of the year for its certification tests.

Испытан первый двухкаскадный газогенератор двигателя Д-18Т серии 3М

В настоящее время в корпорации «НПО «А.Ивченко» (ГП «Ивченко-Прогресс» , АО«МОТОР СИЧ»), продолжаются работы по модернизации ТРДД Д-18Т, не имеющего аналогов в странах СНГ и который устанавливается на самолетах Ан-124 («Руслан») и Ан-225 («Мрiя»). По своим техническим характеристикам, а именно: по перевозке негабаритных грузов массой до 250 т – «Мрiя» и до 150 т – «Руслан», эти самолеты и сегодня являются непревзойденными в мире.
Совместным трудом коллективов ГП «Ивченко-Прогресс», которое является разработчиком, и АО «МОТОР СИЧ» — изготовителем двигателя Д-18Т, создана новая модификация двигателя серии 3М с системой автоматического управления с полной ответственностью типа FADEC, улучшенными акустическими характеристиками, низким уровнем эмиссии вредных веществ, для обеспечения перспективных норм ICAO. Внедряются мероприятия по надежности для получения назначенного ресурса 50000 часов, равного ресурсу планера самолета Ан-124 «Руслан».

В июле 2014 года в ГП «Ивченко-Прогресс» собран первый двухкаскадный газогенератор двигателя Д-18Т серии 3М. С августа на предприятии приступили к специальным сертификационным испытаниям газогенератора по оценке прочностных и газодинамических характеристик. К концу года планируется сборка первого полноразмерного двигателя Д-18Т серии 3М для проведения его сертификационных испытаний.