Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko


Biographic information

ivchenko
About life and activities of Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko, founder of Zaporozhye Machine-Building Design Bureau “Progress”, Doctor of Engineering, laureate of Lenin and State Prizes, Hero of Socialist Labour, Academician of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, General Designer of the Experimental Design Bureau.

A well-known soviet scientist, creator of long life aviation turboprop engines, General Designer Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko was born in Bolshoy Tokmak town of Zaporozhye region (former Tavricheskaya Gouberniya) on November 23, 1903 in a family of worker. There he went to school, and his childhood and youth passed in this town.

Alexander Georgiyevich’s family was big; there were eleven children in it. His father, Georgy Yefimovich worked as a caster at Fux and Klainers factory (further renamed to Krasny Progress). His mother, Yelizaveta Yakovlevna devoted her life to family and housekeeping.

In 1920 Alexander Georgiyevich started his work activity as an apprentice in foundry, and then as a caster at plant named after S.M. Kirov in Bolshoy Tokmak town.

Alexander Georgiyevich acquired higher technical education in Kharkov Mechanical-Machine-Building Institute and in 1935 he graduated from the faculty of internal-combustion engines.

Having graduated from the institute, Ivchenko worked as an engineer on assembly and testing of aviation engines at Zaporozhye plant No. 29 named after P.I. Baranov (now Motor Sich JSC). Later he was transferred to the Chief Designer’s Department, where he designed and improved aviation piston engines first as an ordinary designer and then as manager of a design team.

In 1938 he was appointed leading designer of 1500 h.p. M-89 engine. The engine powered the aircraft designed by Chief Designers P.O. Sukhoy (Su-2) and V.M. Petlyakov (Pe-2A). Due to launching the M-89 engine into series production A.G. Ivchenko was appointed deputy manager of series design bureau and continued improvement works on this engine in series production.

In 1945 A.G. Ivchenko was appointed manager of the Experimental Design Bureau at plant No. 478 in Zaporozhye city; in 1946 he became chief designer at plant No. 478.

 
When the factory was evacuated to Siberia, Omsk town, he was appointed a manager of series design office at factory №29, then a deputy of general designer F.D. Shvetsov and was charged to introduce ASh-82FN engine into series production and provide it with supervision. Intensive works were performed by Alexander Georgiyevich on introduction into series production of this engine, which powered aircraft La-5 of General designer Lavochkin and Tupolev’s bombers Tu-2.

In 1945 A.G. Ivchenko was appointed manager of the Experimental Design Bureau at plant No. 478 in Zaporozhye city; in 1946 he became chief designer at plant No. 478.

Charged to master and provide series production of AI-45F turbojet engine with designer’s support at plant No. 478, by order of Minister of Defense Industry A.G. Ivchenko in 1953 was appointed Deputy of General Designer V.Ya. Klimov. In 1957 Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko became the chief designer of self-maintained State All-Union EDB No. 478 and General Designer in 1963.

Within a period from 1945 to 1968 the Experimental Design Bureau (ОКБ) headed by A.G. Ivchenko and with his direct active participation designed aviation products of the highest technical level and introduced them in the national industry:

1. Family of the АI-26, АI-10, АI-12, АI-14R piston aero engines to power Pо-2, Yak-12, Yak-18, Yak-20, Аn-14 trainers, combat and liaison airplanes.

2. Family of the АI-4G, АI-26GR, АI-26V, АI-14V, АI-7, АI-24V, ТV-2VК piston and gas turbine helicopter and rotorcraft engines installed in B-5, B-9, B-10, B-11, Ка-10, Ка-15, Ка-18, Ка-26, Мi-1, Мi-3, Мi-7, Мi-8, Yak-100 and Ка-22 helicopters.

3. Family of starting aero engines: ТS-12F, АI-2МК, АI-8, АI-9 used in Аn-8, Аn-10, Аn-22, Be-12, Il-18, Тu-95, Тu-114, Yak-40 aircraft and Ми-1, Мi-6, Мi-10 helicopters, etc.

4. Family of powerful turboprop gas turbine aero engine of high service life: АI-20К, АI-20D, АI-20М, АI-24 for Аn-8, Аn-10, Аn-12, Аn-24, Il-18 passenger, transport and troop- carriers, and Be-12 hydroplane.

5. The АI-25, the first in the USSR bypass turbojet engine for Yak-40 passenger aircraft.

6. Family of industrial engines:

– The AI-2 engine for DRUZHBA power saw;
– The Sich family of racing engines for motorboats;
– The AI-14PS engine for the Sever-2 and Ka-30 snowplanes, as well as the Raduga hovercraft;
– The AI-20C and AI-23C gas turbine drivers for Tayfun and Burevestnik hydrofoils and the Sormovich hovercraft;
– The AI-8 APU used as starter for APA-8 ground power unit, for starting propulsion engines of the Sormovich starting and landing site;
– The AI-8P GTD for GIG-4 inert gas generator;
– The АI-23, АI-23U, АI-23SG GTDs for drilling units;
– The AI-21 GTD for GTU-1000 gas turbine units for mobile 5E41 power stations.

Indigenous turboprop airplanes powered by АI-20, АI-24 engines and turbojet airplanes with AI-25 engines are operated in many countries of the world.

In November 1962 Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko was awarded by the CIAM’s academic council a degree of Doctor of Engineering Science for his scientific and research works on the development of aero engines featuring high service life. In June 1964 he became an Academician of the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic.

A.G. Ivchenko was awarded high state government rewards for a successful activity in the field of development of new examples of aviation products:

  • Order of the Red Banner of Labour (1944);;
  • Order of the Red Star (1945);
  • Order of the Red Banner of Labour (1948);
  • State Prize of the USSR (1948);
  • Order of the Red Banner of Labour (1957);
  • Lenin Prize (1960);;
  • Title of Hero of Socialist Labour (1963);
  • Order of Lenin (1966).

Alexander Georgiyevich was a great designer-scientist in the field of aero engine- manufacturing, a designer of a wide range of original designs for helicopter and aircraft engines; he was a member of the Scientific and Technical Board in the State Aviation Committee of Council of Ministers of the USSR, a member of the Scientific and Technical Board in the Main Directorate of Civil Aviation, a member of the Coordination Aviation Committee; he participated in studies of State projects as a member of standing commission of the State Scientific and Technical Committee on turbine power plants in the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic.

Alexander Georgiyevich Ivchenko died on July 1, 1968.

Александр Георгиевич Ивченко


Биографическая справка

ivchenkoО жизни и деятельности основателя Запорожского машиностроительного конструкторского бюро “Прогресс” доктора технических наук, лауреата Ленинской и Государственной премий, Героя Социалистического труда, академика АН УССР, Генерального конструктора ОКБ Ивченко Александра Георгиевича

Известный советский ученый, создатель авиационных турбовинтовых двигателей большого ресурса, Генеральный конструктор Александр Георгиевич Ивченко родился в городе Большой Токмак Запорожской области (бывшей Таврической губернии) 23 ноября 1903 году в семье рабочего. Там он пошел в школу, и там прошли его детство и юность.

Семья у родителей Александра Георгиевича была большая – одиннадцать детей. Отец – Георгий Ефимович работал литейщиком на заводе «Фукс и Клайнер» (после переименованный в «Красный прогресс»). Мать – Елизавета Яковлевна всю свою жизнь посвятила семье и домашнему хозяйству.

Трудовую деятельность Александр Георгиевич начал в 1920 году учеником литейного дела, а затем литейщиком на заводе имени Кирова в городе Большой Токмак.

Высшее техническое образование Александр Георгиевич Ивченко получил в Харьковском механико-машиностроительном институте, окончив факультет «двигателей внутреннего сгорания» в 1935 году.

После окончания института Ивченко работал инженером по сборке и испытанию авиационных двигателей на Запорожском заводе имени Баранова №29 (теперь ОАО «Мотор Сич»). Затем был переведен в отдел главного конструктора, где занимался конструированием и совершенствованием авиационных поршневых двигателей вначале в качестве рядового конструктора, а затем начальника конструкторской бригады.

В 1938 году был назначен ведущим конструктором по двигателю М-89 мощностью 1500 л.с. Двигатель устанавливался на самолеты главных конструкторов Сухого (Су-2) и Петлякова (Пе-2А). В связи с запуском двигателя М-89 в серийное производство был назначен заместителем начальника серийно-конструкторского бюро и в серийном производстве продолжал работы по усовершенствованию этого двигателя.

После эвакуации завода в Сибирь назначается начальником серийного конструкторского бюро завода №29, а затем заместителем главного конструктора.

Большие работы были проведены Александром Георгиевичем по внедрению в серийное производство двигателя АШ-82ФН, устанавливаемого на самолеты Генерального конструктора Лавочкина — Ла-5 и бомбардировщики Туполева — Ту-2.

В 1945 году Ивченко был назначен — начальником самостоятельного ОКБ завода №478 в городе Запорожье, в 1946 году — главным конструктором завода №478, а в 1963 году — Генеральным конструктором Государственного союзного ОКБ №478.

Опытно-конструкторское бюро при непосредственном участии и под руководством Ивченко за период с 1945 года по 1968 год спроектировало и внедрило в народное хозяйство страны авиационную технику самого высокого технического уровня:

  1. Семейство поршневых самолетных двигателей АИ-26, АИ-10, АИ-12, АИ-14Р для учебно-тренировочных, боевых самолетов и самолетов связи По-2, Як-12, Як-18, Як-20, Ан-14.
  2. Семейство поршневых и газотурбинных вертолетных и винтокрылых авиационных двигателей: АИ-4Г, АИ-26ГР, АИ-26В, АИ-14В, АИ-7, АИ-24В, ТВ-2ВК, которые устанавливались на вертолеты Б-5, Б-9, Б-10, Б-11, Ка-10, Ка-15, Ка-18, Ка-26, Ми-1, Ми-3, Ми-7, Ми-8, Як-100 и Ка-22.
  3. Семейство пусковых авиационных двигателей: ТС-12Ф, АИ-2МК, АИ-8, АИ-9, которые применяются на самолетах Ан-8, Ан-10, Ан-22, Бе-12, Ил-18, Ту-95, Ту-114, Як-40 и вертолетах Ми-1, Ми-6, Ми-10 и др.
  4. Семейство мощных турбовинтовых газотурбинных авиационных двигателей большого ресурса: АИ-20К, АИ-20Д, АИ-20М, АИ-24 для пассажирских, транспортных и десантных самолетов Ан-8, Ан-10, Ан-12, Ан-24, Ил-18 и гидросамолета Бе-12.
  5. Первый в СССР двухконтурный турбореактивный двигатель АИ-25 для пассажирского Як-40.
  6. Семейство двигателей наземного назначения:
    • двигатель АИ-2 для мотопилы “Дружба”,
    • гоночные двигатели семейства “Сiч” для водномоторного спорта,
    • двигатель АИ-14РС для аэросаней “Север-2”, Ка-30 и судна на воздушной подушке “Радуга”,
    • газотурбинные приводы АИ-23С-1 и АИ-20С для судов на подводных крыльях «Тайфун» и «Буревестник», судна на воздушной подушке «Сормович»,
    • пусковой двигатель АИ-8 для аэродромного пускового агрегата АПА-8, для запуска маршевых двигателей СПК «Сормович»,
    • ГТП АИ-8П для генератора инертных газов ГИГ-4,
    • ГТП АИ-23, АИ-23У, АИ-23СГ для буровых установок,
    • ГТП АИ-21 для газотурбинных установок ГТУ-1000 передвижных электростанций 5Э41

Отечественные турбовинтовые самолеты с двигателями АИ-20, АИ-24 и турбореактивные с двигателем АИ-25 эксплуатируются во многих странах мира.

За научно-исследовательские работы по созданию авиационных двигателей большого ресурса Ученым Советом ЦИАМа Александру Георгиевичу Ивченко в ноябре 1962 года была присуждена ученая степень доктора технических наук. В июне 1964 года он стал академиком Академии наук УССР.
За успешную деятельность в области создания новых образцов авиационной техники Ивченко был награжден высокими правительственными наградами:

  • орденом Трудового Красного Знамени (1944г.);
  • орденом Красной Звезды (1945г.);
  • орденом Трудового Красного Знамени (1948г.);
  • Государственной премией СССР (1948г.);
  • орденом Трудового Красного Знамени (1957г.);
  • Ленинской премией (1960г.);
  • званием Героя Социалистического Труда (1963г.);
  • орденом Ленина (1966г.).

Александр Георгиевич был крупным ученым-конструктором в области авиационного двигателестроения, создателем целой гаммы оригинальных конструкций отечественных вертолетных и самолетных двигателей; состоял членом Научно-Технического Совета при Государственном Комитете по авиационной технике при Совете Министров СССР, членом Научно-Технического Совета Главного Управления Гражданского Воздушного флота, членом Координационного комитета по авиационной технике; участвовал в рассмотрении Госпроектов, будучи членом постоянной комиссии ГНТК АН УССР по турбинным силовым установкам.

Умер Александр Георгиевич Ивченко 1 июля 1968 года.


Подпишитесь на новости нашего сайта

(не больше одного письма в месяц)

Ваше имя (обязательно)

Ваш E-Mail (обязательно)

Страна

Сфера деятельности/интересов

Фирма (предприятие)