Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko


Biographic information

muravchenko2About life and activities of Associate Member of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and Academy of Sciences of Russian Federation, member of the International Engineering Academy, Doctor of Science (Engineering) , Professor, honored worker of science of Ukraine, laureate of State Prizes of the USSR and Ukraine, ‘Eminent engineer of XX century’ of the International Engineering Academy, cavalier of many orders and medals, Hero of Ukraine, Designer General Muravchenko Fyodor Mikhailovich.

Famous soviet and Ukrainian scientist is the designer of gas turbine aero engines, unique engines and gas turbine drivers (GTD) with high service-life and high level of reliability. Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko, Designer General, was born on March 18, 1929 in Zaporozhye village of Grudovato-Sinelnikovo district in Dneproprtrovsk region. He was the eights son of nine in the family of Varvara Mironovna and Mikhail Yefremovich. All their life his parents worked at collective farm of their region and fostered love of work in their children.

Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko began his labor activity in village smithy. At the end of the war a young blacksmith was only 15 years old. While training in a special school of air forces in Dnepropetrovsk during the first post-war years he introduced to aviation. This fact determined all his further life and he entered the Charkov Aviation Institute. Having obtained the profession of an aero engine designer after graduation in 1954 he was directed to OKB (Experimental Design Bureau) of plant No. 478 (Motor-Sich JSC now ) in Zaporozhye.

On the post of engineer –designer he joined in the development of the AI-20 gas turbine engine (GTE) with all the energy and purposefulness of his nature. He did a lot for this engine to win in a competitive struggle.

In 1959 Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko was appointed head of design team on engine starting operations. At the same time he foresaw a great potential of the system of air starting of GTEs. For the first time in the USSR a system of air starting of GTEs was designed under his leadership in order to replace a bulky and complicated electric system. Afterwards a new system of GTE starting was widely applied aboard transport and passenger aircraft. Even today this system is used for starting almost all high- and medium-power GTEs. He managed to consider and analyze carefully the operation of all the elements of the design , to find optimum and original solutions while developing a new technical equipment. It allowed for raising a technical level of combustion chambers and achieving service life of 4000 hours at first time in the world’s practice of engine manufacturing as early as in 1965. He was one of the first who realized the advantages of annular combustion chamber application. He founded the school of designing law-emission combustion chambers and due to this fact all the engines designed by the enterprise since 1965 satisfy the rigorous world’s ecological standards.

In March 1965 he was appointed chief designer and headed the works connected with industrial application of GTEs. With his direct assistance by a request of the Ministry of oil and gas industry the engines for driving a range of drilling rigs and drivers for stimulation of oil production were designed on the basis of the AI-24 turboprop aero engine: AI-23, AI-23U, AI-23SG GTDs. A lot of oil and gas fields in the Siberia were explored using these drivers. Great research and design works were conducted in order to change over the engine supply to diesel fuel and natural gas and to develop of specialized industrial GTDs: GIG-4 (Inert Gas Generator) and 2UVAG water- heating unit, etc.

From 1966 to 1968 the AI-20S and AI-23S-1 GTDs were designed for Burevestnik and Taifun hydrofoils, Sormovich hovercrafts. These vessels were successfully in operation in river and sea navigation lines.

On the basis of the AI-20 and AI-24 turboprop aero engines the drivers were designed which were installed in the SM-6 wigcraft (a prototype of the Caspian monster vessel), in the GTU-1000 gas turbine units of mobile 5E41power stations at Sever 1 pipe-welding facility and AI-24 PGTE, PAES-1660, PAES-2500 power stations.

In 1967 by order of Ministry of aviation industry of the USSR Muravchenko was appointed deputy chief designer on experimental development, in 1983 – chief designer, first deputy chief manager of Progress Zaporozhye Machine-Building Design Bureau, since May 1989 – Designer General of Progress Zaporozhye Machine-Building Design Bureau.

Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko grounded and realized the concepts of designing the families of turbojet engines with a high bypass ratio (which are almost unique in the world’s practice) which give the opportunity to reduce significantly costs of development, certification and putting into series production of aero engines and gas turbines of industrial application.

With the direct assistance of Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko a great work was done and new engines were designed:

  1. New versions of the AI-20, AI-24 turboprop engines were designed and improved to power An-8, An-10, An-12, An-24, An-26, An-30, An-32, Be-12, Il-18, Il-18, Il-20, Il-22, and Il-38aircraft.
  2. A range of engineering works conducted to provide reliability and increase of service life of the following engines in service: AI-20 of all versions, AI-24, AI-25, AI-25 TL, AI-8, AI-9, AI-9V, D-36, D-136, D-18T.
  3. Such engines have been already designed and introduced into series production: the D-36, the first home-manufactured turbofan bypass engine, which has 6 modified versions and powers An-72, An-74, An-74FK-300, Yak-42; the D-18T, one of the most powerful engines to power An-124 Ruslan, An-225 Mriya transport aircraft; the D-136 turboshaft engine to power Mi-26 helicopter, which is unique due to its power and carrying capacity; the AI-25TL and DV-2 turbojet engines of high reliability to power L-39, L-59 trainers of Czech production; development of new engines of the D-436 family (of 6 modified versions) to power Tu-334, An-148 passenger and Be-200 amphibian airplanes; the TV3-117VMA-SBM1turboprop engine and AI9-3B APU to power An-140.
  4. Several engines have been already designed and are currently under official and certification tests: the D-27 aero engine of the 5th generation (the first propfan engine which provides unique characteristics as installed in An-70 transport); the AI-222 turbojet engine to power Yak-160 combat trainers; the AI-450 turboshaft engine to power Ka-226 and Mi-2M helicopters.
  5. New engines are undergoing development tests: the AI-222-25F, the first in Ukraine turbojet engine with afterburner to power Chinese L-35combat trainers; the AI-22 turbojet engine to power Tu-324 passenger aircraft.
  6. At present intensive design work is conducted in order to develop new engine versions of the D-436, D-27, AI-222, and AI-450 engine families to power A/C of various classes.
  7. The D-336 gas turbines in the power range from 4 to 10MW have been designed and introduced in series production. Now gas-pumping stations of Ukraine, Russia, Iran, Turkey, Bulgaria, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan are retrofitted with them.
  8. Gas turbine drivers (GTD) have been designed and are currently in service to power mobile GTE AI-2500 power stations, AI-336E block-modular power station , MST-198, MST-20 electric generators.
  9. Full-size tests of the special equipment are conducted: AI-19 GIG inert gas generator on a truck chassis for indoors fire extinguishing; AI-45 low-power gas-pumping unit; TM-50, TM-210 refrigerating units.
  10. Combustion chamber for GTD of the power station rated at a power 65MW have been designed and is currently under the tests.
  11. New versions of GTDs of various powers are under development.

Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko was a very broad-minded in technical field, well-experienced person. He applies advanced science and technology achievements. He was a man of great engineering erudition. Due to his continuous work on increasing his technical knowledge it is possible to solve on the fly complicated problems on designing up-to-date aeronautical engineering on a proper technical level. Designer General works a lot at advancing ecological characteristics of GTDs, this matter was always of high priority at the enterprise.

As a result, all the engines satisfy the most rigorous world’s standards. For his great R&D work on designing aero engines Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko was awarded academical degree of Doctor of Science (Engineering) in 1991, professor in 1999, elected the academician of the Engineering Academy of Ukraine in 1992, the academician of the International Engineering Academy in 1999. In May 2003 he was elected the Associate Member of the Academy of Technical Sciences of the Russian Federation. He was a co-author of a state Program ‘The development of Ukrainian aviation industry’, author (co-author) of more than 170 scientific works and 42 author’s certificates and patents.

Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko has overcome a lot during his career from the post of engineer- designer to the post of Chief Executive Officer of SE Ivchenko-Progress, a leading manufacturer of aero engines for different types of aircraft and helicopters, and also engines of industrial application in Ukraine. While working he was entirely devoted to designing a new aviation technology.

For successful activity in the field of designing the new types of aeronautical engineering Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko was awarded high government rewards:

  • Medal for Labor Valour (1966);
  • Order of the Red Banner of Labour (1971);
  • Order of the October Revolution (1981);
  • State prize of the USSR (1984);
  • State prize of Ukraine in the field of science and technology (1994);
  • Order of Merit of III, II, I degrees (1994, 1999, 2005);
  • Diploma of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine (1999);
  • Title of the Hero of Ukraine (with presentation of state order, 2002);
  • Honorary title of Honored worker of science and technology of Ukraine (2003) ;
  • Order of Friendship of Russian Federation (2004);
  • Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise (2009)

Muravchenko has left a heritage- the stuff of thousands of designers, researchers and production workers able to solve unique problems on designing the best aviation technology in the world. With his direct assistance long-term programs on the development of civil aviation and on conversion of aero engines in Ukraine were developed in order to be applied in national economy. Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko, famous designer, scientist and manager – had a great authority in the field of aero engine designing not only among the specialists of CIS countries but also around the whole aviation world.

Fyodor Mikhailovich Muravchenko died on February 8, 2010.


Subscribe to our website news

(no more than one letter per month)

Name:(required)

E-Mail (required)

-Country

field of activity / interests

Firm (Enterprise)

Федор Михайлович Муравченко


Биографическая справка

muravchenko2о жизни и деятельности члена корреспондента Национальной академии наук Украины и Академии технологических наук Российской Федерации, академика Международной инженерной академии доктора технических наук, профессора, заслуженного деятеля науки и техники Украины, лауреата государственных премии СССР и Украины, «Выдающегося инженера ХХ столетия» Международной Инженерной Академии, кавалера многих орденов и медалей, Героя Украины, Генерального конструктора Муравченко Федора Михайловича.

Известный советский и украинский ученый, создатель авиационных газотурбинных двигателей, уникальных двигателей и газотурбинных приводов большого ресурса и высокой степени надежности, Генеральный конструктор Федор Михайлович Муравченко родился 18 марта 1929 года в селе Запорожье — Грудовато Синельниковского района Днепропетровской области. Он был восьмым сыном из девяти детей Варвары Мироновны и Михаила Ефимовича. Отец и мать всю жизнь проработали в колхозном хозяйстве на земле своего района, где и прививали любовь к труду своим детям.

Трудовую карьеру Ф.М. Муравченко начал в сельской кузне. Молодому кузнецу, в конце войны, тогда было неполных 15 лет. Первое знакомство с авиацией у Федора Михайловича началось с учебы в Днепропетровской спецшколе ВВС в первые послевоенные годы. Это приобщение и определило жизнь Ф.М. Муравченко, и он поступил учиться в Харьковский авиационный институт. По окончании института по специальности авиамоторостроение в 1954г был направлен в Запорожское ОКБ завода №478 (теперь ОАО «Мотор Сич»).

В должности инженера-конструктора Муравченко со свойственной ему энергией и целеустремленностью включился в разработку газотурбинного двигателя АИ-20 и сделал многое для победы этого двигателя в конкурентной борьбе.

В 1959 году Ф.М. Муравченко был назначен начальником конструкторской бригады по запуску двигателей. Он в то время предугадал перспективность воздушной системы запуска газотурбинного двигателя (ГТД) и под его руководством впервые в СССР разрабатывается воздушная система запуска газотурбинного двигателя взамен сложной и громоздкой электрической. Впоследствии новая система запуска ГТД нашла широкое применение на летательных аппаратах транспортной и пассажирской авиации, где и сегодня используется для запуска практически всех ГТД большой и средней мощности. Он умел глубоко вникать и анализировать работу элементов конструкции, находить оптимальные и оригинальные решения при разработке новой техники, что позволило заметно поднять технический уровень камер сгорания и — впервые в мировой практике двигателестроения — достичь еще в 1965 году ресурса 4000 часов. Он один из первых кто понял преимущества применения кольцевых камер сгорания. Им была создана школа проектирования малоэмиссионных камер сгорания, благодаря которой все двигатели, разработанные на предприятии после 1965 года удовлетворяют жестким мировым экологическим стандартам.

В марте 1965 года он назначается ведущим конструктором по руководству работами, связанными с наземным применением авиационных газотурбинных двигателей. При его непосредственном участии по заказам Министерства нефтяной и газовой промышленности на базе авиационного турбовинтового АИ-24 разработаны двигатели для привода ряда буровых установок и приводы по интенсификации добычи нефти: ГТП АИ-23, АИ-23У, АИ-23СГ. С их помощью разведаны основные месторождения газа и нефти в Сибири. Проведен большой комплекс опытно-конструкторских работ по переводу питания газотурбинных двигателей на дизельное топливо и на природный газ, по созданию специализированных ГТП для промышленности: парогазогенератора ГИГ-4, водогрейной установки 2УВАГ и т.д.

С 1966 года по 1968 год под его руководством были разработаны газотурбинные приводы АИ-20С и АИ-23С-1 для судов на подводных крыльях «Буревестник», на воздушной подушке «Сормович» и газотурбохода «Тайфун». Эти суда успешно эксплуатировались на линиях речного и морского пароходств.

На базе авиационных турбовинтовых двигателей АИ-20 и АИ-24 были разработаны приводы, которые устанавливались также на экраноплан «СМ-6» (судно прототип «Каспийского монстра»), на газотурбинных установках ГТУ-1000 передвижных электростанций 5Э41 трубосварочного комплекса «Север-1» и на электростанциях АИ-24ПГТЭ, ПАЭС-1600, ПАЭС-2500.

В 1967 году приказом МАП СССР Муравченко назначается заместителем главного конструктора по экспериментальным работам, в 1983 года — главным конструктором, первым заместителем руководителя ЗМКБ “Прогресс”, в феврале 1989 года — утвержден ответственным руководителем предприятия, с мая 1989 года — назначен Генеральным конструктором ЗМКБ “Прогресс”.

Муравченко Ф.М. обосновал и воплотил в жизнь концепции создания семейства турбореактивных двигателей с большой степенью двухконтурности (по отдельным направлениям не имеют аналогов в мировой практике), которые дают возможность значительно снизить затраты на разработку, сертификацию и внедрение в серийное производство авиадвигателей и газовых турбин промышленного назначения.

При непосредственном участии Ф.М. Муравченко было выполнено большое количество работ и созданы новые двигатели:

  1. Усовершенствовались и создавались новые модификации турбовинтовых двигателей АИ-20 и АИ-24 для самолетов Ан-8, Ан-10, Ан-12, Ан-24, Ан-26, Ан-30, Ан-32, Бе-12, Ил-18, Ил-20, Ил-22, Ил-38.
  2. Проведен спектр инжиниринговых работ по обеспечению надежности и повышению ресурса двигателей, которые находятся в эксплуатации: АИ-20 всех модификаций, АИ-24, АИ-25, АИ-25ТЛ, АИ-8, АИ-9, АИ-9В, Д-36, Д-136, Д-18Т.
  3. Созданы и внедрены в серийное производство: первый отечественный турбореактивный двигатель с высокой степенью двухконтурности Д-36, двигатель имеет 6 модификаций и эксплуатируется на самолетах Ан-72, Ан-74, Ан-74ТК-300, Як-42; один из мощнейших в мире двигатель Д-18Т для тяжёлых транспортных самолетов Ан-124 «Руслан», Ан-225 «Мрия»; турбовальный двигатель Д-136 для вертолёта Ми-26, не имеющего аналогов в мире по мощности и грузоподъёмности; высоконадёжные турбореактивные двигатели АИ-25ТЛ и ДВ-2 для учебно-тренировочных самолетов L-39 и L-59 производства Чехии; поколение новых двигателей семейства Д-436 (6 модификаций) для пассажирских самолетов Ту-334, Ан-148 и самолета-амфибии Бе-200; турбовинтовой двигатель ТВ3-117ВМА-СБМ1 и вспомогательный АИ9-3Б для самолета Ан-140.
  4. Разработаны и проходят государственные и сертификационные испытания: авиадвигатель 5-го поколения Д-27, первый в мировой практике винтовентиляторный двигатель, обеспечивающий уникальные параметры среднего транспортного самолета Ан-70, турбореактивный двигатель АИ-222 для учебно-боевых самолетов Як-130, турбовальный двигатель АИ-450 для вертолетов Ка-226 и Ми-2М.
  5. Проходят стендовые испытания новые двигатели: первый в Украине турбореактивный двигатель с форсажной камерой сгорания АИ-222-25Ф для китайских учебно-боевых самолетов L-15, турбореактивный двигатель АИ-22 для пассажирского самолета Ту-324;
  6. В настоящее время интенсивно ведутся проектные работы по созданию новых модификаций двигателей семейств Д-436, Д-27, АИ-222 и АИ-450 для различного класса летательных аппаратов.
  7. Созданы и внедрены в серийное производство газовые турбины Д-336 мощностью 4-10 МВт, ими переоснащаются газоперекачивающие станции Украины, России, Ирана, Турции, Болгарии, Азербайджана, Узбекистана.
  8. Разработаны и находятся в эксплуатации газотурбинные приводы для передвижных электростанций, когенерационных установок – ГТЭ АИ-2500, для блочно-модульных электростанций – АИ-336Э, для электрогенераторов – МСТ-198, МСТ-20;
  9. Проводятся натурные испытания специального оборудования: генератора инертных газов АИ-19 ГИГ на автомобильном шасси для тушения пожаров в закрытых помещениях, газоперекачивающего агрегата АИ-45 малой мощности, холодильных установок – ТМ-50, ТМ-210.
  10. Разработана и проходит испытание камера сгорания для газотурбинного привода электростанции мощностью 65 МВт.
  11. Проектируются новые модификации газотурбинных приводов различных мощностей.

Федор Михайлович Муравченко обладал широким техническим кругозором, большим практическим опытом, применяя в работе передовые достижения науки и техники. Большая инженерная эрудиция, постоянная работа над повышением своих технических знаний позволили оперативно и на высоком техническом уровне решать сложные вопросы по созданию передовой авиационной техники. Генеральный конструктор много времени отдавал совершенствованию экологических параметров ГТД, эти работы всегда являлись на предприятии приоритетной темой. В результате все двигатели предприятия соответствуют самым жестким мировым стандартам.

За большие научно-исследовательские работы по созданию авиационных двигателей Ф.М. Муравченко в 1991 году была присуждена ученая степень доктора технических наук, профессор c 1999 года, академик Инженерной академии Украины 1992 года, академик Международной Инженерной академии 1999 года, в мае 2003 года он был избран членом-корреспондентом Национальной академии наук Украины и в декабре 2003 года членом-корреспондентом Академии технологических наук Российской Федерации. Соавтор национальной программы «Развитие авиационной промышленности Украины», автор (соавтор) свыше 170 научных работ и 42 авторских свидетельств и патентов.

Федор Михайлович Муравченко прошел большой трудовой путь от инженера-конструктора до руководителя ГП ЗМКБ “Прогресс” — головного разработчика в Украине авиационных двигателей для самолетов и вертолетов самого разного класса, а также двигателей наземного применения, полностью отдавая себя делу создания передовой авиационной техники. За успешную деятельность в области создания новых образцов авиационной техники Федор Михайлович Муравченко был награжден высокими правительственными наградами:

  • медалью «За Трудовую доблесть» (1966);
  • орденом «Трудового Красного Знамени» (1971);
  • орденом «Октябрьской Революции» (1981);
  • Государственной премией СССР (1984);
  • Государственной премией Украины в области науки и техники (1994);
  • орден «За заслуги» III, ІІ , І степени (1994, 1999, 2005);
  • Почетной грамотой Кабинета Министров Украины (1999);
  • звание Герой Украины (с вручением ордена государства, 2002);
  • почетное звание «Заслуженный деятель науки и техники Украины» (2003);
  • орден «Дружбы Российской Федерации» (2004);
  • орден князя Ярослава Мудрого V степени (2009).

Ф.М. Муравченко оставил наследие — многотысячный коллектив конструкторов, исследователей и производственников, способных решать уникальные задачи по созданию самой совершенной авиационной техники. При непосредственном участии разрабатывались долгосрочные программы развития гражданской авиации в Украине и конверсии авиационных двигателей с целью применения в народном хозяйстве. Известный конструктор, ученый, руководитель Ф.М. Муравченко оставил яркий след в истории авиадвигателестроения не только среди стран СНГ, но и во всем авиационном мире.

Умер Федор Михайлович Муравченко 8 февраля 2010 года.


Подпишитесь на новости нашего сайта

(не больше одного письма в месяц)

Ваше имя (обязательно)

Ваш E-Mail (обязательно)

Страна

Сфера деятельности/интересов

Фирма (предприятие)